Tags

I am scared of heights. Every time I look down from the second floor or higher of any building, my heart starts racing and I get scared. I wouldn’t call it an irrational fear. People die from falling from such great heights. One time, my family and I went to a mountain and we had to cross a bridge that connected two mountains to get to the other mountains. That was terrifying. It was a rope bridge with wooden planks and as we walked across it the wind would cause it to sway a little. God that was terrifying, but also exhilarating. 

I am scared of snakes, spiders, and other creepy crawlies. I don’t know why I’m scared of them, I just am. Snakes slither all creepily, spiders are weirdly hairy, and all the other creepy crawlies just give me the heeby jeebies. When I was in the fourth grade, my teacher had a snake in the class. It wasn’t that scary because it was in its glass cage, but sometimes my teacher would take it out. I didn’t freak out, but I was always scared me when it was out of its cage. Yuck.

I am scared of people touching my hands. I have Palmer Hyperhidrosis. It’s a fancy way of saying that my palms sweat excessively. It’s caused by my overactive sympathetic nervous system. I always get scared that if people touch my hands they’ll get grossed out and just never want to get near me ever again. I always get scared to high five people, even give people a hug because they might feel my sweaty hands on their back. I really wish that one day my hands will stop sweating so that I can finally high five people without feeling paranoid, be comfortable holding peoples hands, and be able to rub someone’s back to comfort them. Until then, I’m just scared that people will touch my sweaty hands and be disgusted by me.

I am scared of the dark. Isn’t everyone scared of the unknown? That’s what the dark is to me, the unknown. There could be any monster hiding in the dark and I’m not ready to face my monsters just yet.

I am scared of getting close to people. What it the point of getting close to people when people always leave, right? It just leads to pain and hurt.

 

