Tags

,

All I wanted was a day to hang out with my parents. Is that too much to ask for? I mean, school is going to start soon and I’m going to be just as busy as I was last year, maybe even more. I may be living at home this school year, but that doesn’t mean that I will be able to see and hang out with my parents as much as I did when I was in high school. I barely hang out with them now, and it’s summer time.

All I wanted to do was hang out with my parents today. Today is the only day in the week when none of us have obligations, they don’t work and I don’t have volunteer duty. I specifically chose not to go volunteer today so I could be with my parents.

I just wanted to be with my parents today. We could have done anything together and I would have been happy. We could have gone to the park and just sat and talked, we could have gone to the mall and aimless walked around judging people (I know that sounds bad but its one of the few things my dad and I could do together). We could have done anything as long as we were together.

Instead, my dad decided to take us to go get his car washed.  My mom and I awkwardly sat inside the car while the cleaning crew wiped down the car and cleaning the inside with my dad’s help. Then he took his car to the auto shop for a smog check. He didn’t even talk to us while we were there; he talked to the mechanic the whole time while once again my mom and I sat awkwardly inside the car waiting for him. (Yes my mom and I had many moments where we were awkwardly sitting inside the car together today.)

When we finally headed to the mall, I was too upset to even get excited. Instead I just listened to my iPod on the way feeling glum after the day’s uneventful events. It wasn’t like I had anything to be excited about really. Usually, my dad loved going to the mall together because he got to show off his skills in picking things out for me, but once we got to the mall my dad just went off on his own adventure. Once again, I was left with my mom alone.

Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with my mom. She’s amazing and I love her. Since I was born, it has always been my mom and I against the world. My dad wasn’t in the picture much when I was young, but it was for a good reason and I don”t necessarily hate him for it. I love my parents, which is why I wanted to hang out with BOTH of them today and it really upset me that that didn’t happen. 

I hope this doesn’t make me sound like an ungrateful daughter, but was it too much to ask for some quality time with both my parents today?

